Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree5Likes
  1.    #1  
    I've been using my Veer as my only phone since September. I love webOS, and I'm glad to be free of the iOS/ android systems.

My main issue is really the handling of group SMS or MMS messages. I didn't realize how many group texts I take part in, and not being able to reply to the group, or trying to figure out context from what appear to be 'individual messages' isn't easy.

From searching, I don't see that there's any replacement MMS apps. Would it even be possible to create a messages app with one that understands group messages?

I'm a developer, but I have done zero webOS work. I assume this is a very tall order, I'm just trying to wrap my head around what can be done.

Thanks.
    It would be a pretty big job. Messaging app is only the front-end, and is limited by what the back end database can support. I poked around years ago and decided I didn't have the time to tackle it. Would be nice to support group messages properly.
    I wonder what the LuneOS capability is here. A port of the old app or more features? And can a newer app be ported back to legacy?
  4.    #4  
    Quote Originally Posted by Grabber5.0 View Post
    It would be a pretty big job. Messaging app is only the front-end, and is limited by what the back end database can support. I poked around years ago and decided I didn't have the time to tackle it. Would be nice to support group messages properly.
    Is there any documentation on how the messenging back end is set up? I admit I'm not even sure where to start.
  5.    #5  
    Quote Originally Posted by Preemptive View Post
    I wonder what the LuneOS capability is here. A port of the old app or more features? And can a newer app be ported back to legacy?
    That's a good question. I haven't tried LuneOS at all, is it useable as a phone / messenger at this point?
    LuneOS is using ofono and has a new QT app. I haven't checked in on the messaging app in a while.
    Did you know: