Hey folks!
As evidenced by my post count, I'm a complete newbie with this device. Backstory: 2 years ago, our company moved into an office previously occupied by a games company, and in the process discovered they'd left an impressive amount of electronics behind. Amongst a bunch of old phones, I found a Palm Pre 2 in its original soft case. I knew these phones were a reasonably big deal in their day, so I put it on my junk pile to figure out. I of course ran into many well-known issues, including the SSL limitations and HP making the software hard to get, so I left it to gather dust. Earlier today, I rediscovered it, and set myself a challenge - either get it working, or throw it out. And I actually managed it! I had to piece together a LOT of threads and wiki pages to figure it out. So, for all who might discover their own and want to make it work with Google as of this year, here's a compiled list of links and steps for how I managed it, excluding a lot of dead ends and steps that are no longer applicable. I really hope this guide will help someone out. If I've done something the hard way, then please correct me.

Assumptions:
  • The Pre 2 is blank. You have never used it before, no backups, no personal data on it, no Palm Profile, nada
  • You're familiar with the Linux command line
  • You have access to an x86_64 Ubuntu machine with Java installed (tested with OpenJDK 1.8). This is equally doable on MacOS or Windows; adapt as necessary
  • You have a GSM SIM card suitable for the phone (either right network if it's SIM-locked, or any working SIM if it's unlocked)

The Software
One thing that confused me far more than it should have is the various bits of software floating around. Here's a quick list of the ones I'm aware of and what you need them for:
  • SDK - Software Development Kit. Only really needed if you're planning to write your own apps for the device