Like Tree6Likes
  • 3 Post By Preemptive
  • 1 Post By Preemptive
  • 2 Post By Preemptive
  1.    #1  
    The webOS User Group exists to attempt to maintain legacy webOS devices for as long as is possible or practical. There will of course come a point where one or both of those conditions will cease to apply. The assumption is that LuneOS will by then be developed to a state where users can migrate to it, though there is no guarantee that the two situations will overlap!

A few weeks ago at a group meeting, I suggested that a testing protocol for LuneOS could be developed so that users could better aid development. A testing checklist would be a step up from random 'playing' with a new release and would help the developers identify bugs and check the fixes and also of course to check new features. I imagine each new release might require specific tests additional to the standard routine.

I'm not a LuneOS developer and there's been no formal feedback from the group on this idea, but a couple of developers have been positive. I don't have the expertise to suggest much beyond a few obvious user tests, but I'm posting this thread to see what happens. Ultimately, this will be a pointless exercise if webOS Ports don't at least endorse it and it will be most useful if they specify what tests will be most useful for them.

I'll reserve a couple of posts below to list suggestions or webOS Ports can post here and I'll let them take the lead or link to their thread...

So any suggestions for tests or various Quality Assurance type stuff? Post below.
    Last edited by Preemptive; 05/23/2019 at 09:23 AM.
    virox, Mutoidi and MudShark22 like this.
  2.    #2  
    The Following is a testing checklist by Tofe of WebOS Ports (original here).

Possible Status Meaning
    OK Works fine
    Partial Works partially but is stable
    Unstable Crashes / freezes / glitches
    KO Not working, like previously
    REG Not working, but has been known to work