Like Tree3Likes
  • 3 Post By tullius128
  1. GLO
    One of my Touchpads will not charge with a charging dock stand but does charge perfectly by cord. I've tried resets, but doesn't change, and multiple charging docks that will charge other Touchpads, so I know it's not a bad charging dock stand. I'm not very tech savvy to say the least, and I don't know why this might be. Anybody seen this before or have a clue?
    No one's replied, so I'll chime in with the bad news:

Its likely the charging coil is shot -- and can't be (easily) repaired. The coils aren't particularly rare or difficult to replace, but disassembling a full-size Touchpad is a scary proposition:
    https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/HP+Touc...placement/6082

On the other hand, Touchpads can be had for cheap on eBay, if you really have to have Touchstone charging.
    Check out my webOS archival and development projects: http://www.jonandnic.com/webos
  3. GLO
    Thanks for the info, I appreciate it.
    Kind of interesting coincidence. My touchpad sat in the kitchen on its touchstone stand for almost a year in Exhibition cycling through a bunch of Accuweather cities. When Accuweather broke, I brought the TP up to my office, and set it aside - off the dock. When Accuweather started working again (THANKS! to all who worked on that) I set the TP back on the dock and....nothing. But like Glo, charges via USB. No way to test which is shot, TP or TS as I only have one of each. Never thought I'd but any additional webOS kit but I really liked my little weather station. Guess I'll go search ebay...
    Just bought a brand new sealed TouchPad Dock and a new in open box TouchPad. What the heck is wrong with me?
    Quote Originally Posted by tullius128 View Post
    Kind of interesting coincidence. My touchpad sat in the kitchen on its touchstone stand for almost a year... I set the TP back on the dock and....nothing.
    I have a theory about this.