Failed to open multi error !! possible fix
I dont know whether this thread is still looked at, but if like me you had touchpads that had died and didnt want to throw away a tablet that is still being updated just in case an easy fix came around. background is i am no programmer and would probably describe as a dabbler ,,, i had 4 of these 32Gb tablets with 3 of them dead, i will call them A, B and C. in order that they died. after having the first 2 dead quite some time back and 2 working i took a gamble that it was the battery in A & B that had gone. I had taken them apart to start with (finding the screen removal quite a task). I like others was getting something recognised on the PC when connected but no signs of life after doing all the button presses and all other manner of attempts to get them back to life. I ordered a replacement battery from Ebay and tried that in A&B .... Nothing!!! i was checking the charge rate and could see that up to 4.2 volts being taken in. As this was a new battery i requested a new one and got a replacement (was asked to keep or throw the first away). Tried the new battery and same result. i even after 2 days left on charge nothing went into the batteries ,, as i now had 2 to try. i have the barrel chargers and they were not getting warm at all. In Desperation i thought i could take C apart knowing the charging circuit was ok and tried the batteries in C ,, same result no charge,, but to my dismay when i put the original battery back in C that wouldnt work. although it was charging i could get nothing on screen apart from a backlight,, but nothing on screen.
i decided to start reading up on JCsullins tpdebrick and after many attempts and getting no where never got anything to run apart from more and more error messages. i put them away and now just had the one working.. 3 dead ,, 1 alive.