Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Hi folks,

I've got what seems to be a pretty simple question, but no one at Palm or AT&T or anywhere else can give me a straight answer.

I am a US resident. I plan on spending three months next year in Australia and New Zealand.

While in Australia / New Zealand, I need to be able to access email / web from my Treo 600. I understand that I should get an "unlocked GSM" version.

Ok...

But then what? Do I subscribe with an Australian provider for those 3 months? Do I use a "prepaid SIM"? From what I understand, none of these SIMs allow for data access?

Would be greatful if someone could please help me out here. You'd think this sort of thing would be fairly common, but no one seems to have an answer.

Thanks
    I would say a new sim connected to one of the 3 compatible telicos in Australia:
    Telstra
    Vodaphone
    Optus

I have only ever used Telstra so can't vouch for the others. They have plans but your only here for 3 months and can be had for that short of time. So your stuck with prepaid which is as follows on Telstra:

for details on GPRS go to
    http://www.telstra.com.au/mobile/networks/info/gprs.htm

for details on Prepaid go to
    http://www.telstra.com.au/mobile/mob...paid/index.htm

for details on Prepaid Plus go to
    http://www.telstraprepaidplus.com.au/

for wap details go to
    https://www.telstra.com.au/mobile/pr.../whatiswap.cfm
    this includes links to the other pages on it.

Hope this helps.
    Ancient_One
    Blood and Honour
    (Those who live in the dark shall meet the light and all shall die by my hand.)

(Device:Palm Pilot>Handspring Deluxe>Handspring Treo 270>Sony Clie NX60U>PalmOne Treo 600)
    (Beta Tester:Pocketdimension 2 / Quirl / PalmMAME / Seven Email Client)

Ancient_One
    Blood and Honour
    (Those who live in the dark shall meet the light and all shall die by my hand.)

(Device:Palm Pilot>Handspring Deluxe>Handspring Treo 270>Sony Clie NX60U>PalmOne Treo 600)