Global Posts
    82 Global Posts
    Forgive me, but IANAP (I am not a programmer) just very tech-curious. More of a question, actually.

It seems like this forum has a lot of 'server-side action' going on. When I send a request for a new page (ie: next page of a discussion topic), my browser sends, I receive a blank screen and a 'Done' in the status bar, then I get another connection which loads my request. I've posted on many other types of formus, especially zeroforum, which are much quicker and have similar feature sets (eg: emoticons, parsing links, attachments, polls, etc.). Are you folks working to improve the speed of the forums? Or is there a way that I can change my own personal settings to accomplish the same. Or is the answer just 'more bandwidth and faster server hardware'?

I guess I'm just curious as to how it works.

Thanks!!
    -Craig J.

Visor Platinum -= Clie T615CS -= treo 600 -=treo 650 -= Tilt
    "In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move. "
    -Douglas Adams
    Not wishing to bite the hands that feeds, but this is the slowest forum in which I participate ... by far. I'd say it takes 10 seconds to load each page.
    10 seconds what kind of connection are you on? i have got broadband its no slower than any other forums
    Nokia 3210 > Nokia 3310 >Palm Vx > Palm M105 >Treo 180g and Nokia 8850 > Treo 270 > Treo 600 > Sony TH55 > Tapwave Zodiac 2 > Treo 650 GSM > Imate KJam > Treo 750v

Formerly Known As PRANKSTAR
    I have no problems with forum speed either - I'm on a 2mbps cable connection though.

That doesn't mean that we may or may not have problems - there are tons of possible issues that could explain why it is slow for you. I can't tell you anything exact though so I'll just be quiet.