1.    #1  
    I have a jail broken palm pre. All the standard apps work just fine. The app catolog is not available now obviously and I was wondering a simple way to get new apps on the phone. I'm pretty new to this and not that computer savy. I thought it would be as easy as going to palm and sending an app through sms, but it's not happening. ANY help is greatly appreciated. I consider myself an intelligent person. but when explaining please talk to me like a child. lol!
    how did you "jailbreak" a phone that is already accessible? That's one of the great things about webOS...
    Global Posts
    193 Global Posts
    i agree there is no reason to jailbreak a pre
    i don't know what exactly you had to do to "jailbreak" you phone but, I use my phone without a contract and I still have access to the full catalog, do a search for meta-doctor, preware, and webos quickinstall.

Meta doctor: creates "doctor" that avoids needing to activate the phone.

"preware" is an app that is sideloaded using a computer that gives you patching option and much more

webos quick install: is a pc program that easily installs app to your phone and much more....

NOTE: the jailbreaking community is called "homebrew" and it is for doing things Palm cannot or doesnot allow, IT isn't for pirating apps!!!!
    What all the previous messages are getting at, is JailBreak is a term used for the Apple iPhone ONLY!

So it's not nice to say Jailbreak when talking about WebOS! UPDATE!: It's a joke guys! LOL! Lighten up!

In WebOS land the term is called 'Homebrew'!

So if you have installed other stuff besides what came with your phone; that you got on your phone either by using WebOS Quick Install (which at the moment, you have to use first to get the following) or you have Preware on your phone; then you have a phone that is Homebrewed.