Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Hey, so as we know the Palm Pre is not the biggest in terms of space...so we only have 8GB-16GB to work with our music, while some other people can get up to 32GB on THEIR devices.

Well, here is a tip to manage to cram 4-8 times more music on your device with very little lost in terms of sound quality.

(and I have my Masters in Audio Engineering, so listen up! :P)

With the 16GB Pre Plus I wouldn't be surprised that you can get your entire music collection on your device with this method (as long as you dont have 30,000 songs...)

Basically, a little known fact is that the Palm Pre can playback a new audio format called AAC+.

AAC plus uses special algorithms to get music files as small as possible with very little loss in quality.

So, you can use iTunes, or a program called MediaCoder to convert your music to AAC+ before you send it off to your PRE.

Heres how with iTunes.

1)Go to the Preferences, and go to Import Settings in the General tab.

2) Then go to settings and go to "Custom".

3) Change the Custom settings to:

Stereo Bit Rate: 48 kbs (if 48 is too low of quality for you try 64-80)
    Sample Rate: 44.100 kHz
    Channels: Stereo

Then MAKE SURE you select

"Use Variable Bit Rate encoding VBR"

AND THE MOST IMPORTANT PART (Drumroll...)

"Use High Efficiency Encoding HE"

That last part puts the + on AAC, so make sure you do that.

Then just right click the songs you wish to have on your Pre (make a playlist if thats easier) and select "Convert to AAC" or go to "Advanced" in the menu and click "Make AAC Version"

Then you can transfer these files onto your Pre however you usually do it.

Enjoy more songs on your Pre!

Pics below:
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Good tip. I like this idea.
    what version itunes do I need again?
  4.    #4  
    Anything past version 9.

So...if you are using itunes to sync music you might want 8 and 9 at the same time....

OR, use MediaCoder.