1.    #1  
    Before I go any further, please note that I am not a developer nor do I work with computers. I appreciate any help but PLEASE explain things to me as simply as possible so as not to boggle my brain.

My husband says it's not worth his time to edit my json file to get rid of the NASCAR and NFL apps, since I'd probably get mad at him and want a new phone (not true!). But he has a point, especially if the next version of webOS just downloads the danged apps again. Which leaves me with no choice but using patches.

I've downloaded webOSQuickInstall. It told me I needed webOSdoctor, so I downloaded that as well. Just to be safe, I rebooted the computer (Mac OS X). I double-clicked on webOSdoctor, and it asked me to confirm English, then gave me a whole bunch of legalese to accept. Then came a window telling me it will reset my Palm, and after that a window telling me to connect the Palm with the USB cable.

So when exactly do I get the question window that lets me set to "USB device?" And does webOSQuickInstall launch itself? Because when I double-click on that icon, I briefly see ca.canucksoftware.WebOSQuickInstallApp in the menu bar, and then it goes right back to Finder without anything else happening.

I've been following the How To: Install Homebrew Apps on the Palm Pre, and now it looks like I'm stuck. Any advice (that I can understand) would be appreciated!
    Hi Animemom,

I can help you figure this out, but it will take some patience.

First off, a really important point. Do not ever run WebOS Doctor - it is an application designed to completely and irretrievably wipe/delete/format your Palm device. Unless you know exactly what you're doing, you shouldn't be touching this file. But don't delete it either, because it's needed for WebOS Quick Install to run.

The file you want to run is called WebOS Quick Install.

So, to install Preware you need to do the following:

1) Put your Palm device into Developer mode