1.    #1  
    Is there a way to back up my SMS on my Palm Pre?
    Yes, there's a thread on that somewhere. Try searching for it. It's got to do with the PalmDatabase.db3 if I remember correctly.

Here it is:
    http://forums.precentral.net/palm-pr...ng-phones.html

Sometimes it actually pays off to do a search instead of just blindly starting a new thread.
  3.    #3  
    Hi, Tomi666:
    Thanks for your response. I'm new to this and was probably too brief (and somewhat embarrassed) with my question. I actually did a pretty extensive search for info on backing up my SMS, including the link that you sent. What I left out is that what I found was too complicated for me. That is, the statement "You will need to have rooted your Pre" is like a foreign language to me. I don't understand it and so was hesitant to try. So...what I should have requested was: Is there a simple way to back up my SMS -or- can someone explain to me in layman's language how to do it. I do thank you for replying.
    Rooted pre isn't *that* complicated. Portal:Accessing Linux - WebOS Internals

You can also use webos quick install which does not involve rooting http://www.precentral.net/how-back-y...le-information

Also, I think this guy is close to developing something workable that also does SMS message backup, although there's no app out yet. forums.precentral.net/web-os-development/212309-running-bash-sh-scripts-webos-app-13.html
  5.    #5  
    Thank you so much,tarirene. I was able to extract the info through the link you sent (for WebOS Install). Now...how can I be sure the SMS are "in there"? I can't open it. I also can't find anything in the forum that tells me how to do that. I found a link that let me export the Contacts (which I didn't really need), but not the SMS. Any thoughts on that? Many thanks in advance...