Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Before you consider, Rooting Your Pre, take a look at the dozens of new apps for your Pre: Homebrew Forum.

Rooting or "Jailbreaking" in the case of the Pre is really gaining access to the Linux operating system. Rooting is not for someone who is new to programming or Linux. Rooting can "brick" your Pre so that is cannot be fixed. But by rooting the pre, developers have shown that you can add many important missing features or modify exiting applications.

Here are the Accessing Linux: Rooting your Pre and Installing the SDK on Windows webOSdev Palm.

- Craig
    I am a programmer dummy. I know nothing at all about Linux, or any of that stuff. That being said, I'm not afraid to learn (sometimes even the hard way, bricking a phone if need be). I can't believe it's that hard to get into the system and paste some new code in there. I've just seen a few very nice changes I'd like to make to my Pre too. I went to the "Accessing Linux: Rooting your Pre" web site and downloaded the software required. This is where I get stuck. I click and get an emulator. OK, how does that have anything to do with entering the code? I am pretty familiar with the old DOS, and it sounds like they want me to open a DOS session and do things from there. If that's true, I can do that... The directions leave out the part about that. Do I open the emulator and then a DOS session, or am I way off base? I've put my Pre in the DevMode enabled mode. Obviously, at some point I would have to plug in the Pre. I haven't found those directions on the net either. I've watched a youtube video on rooting a Pre, but it sounds like I don't need to do that with the emulator. Maybe I do? I know I'm being REAL basic right now, but if I can get beyond a few points, I think I have a shot at this. The Windows registry never intimidated me. I know bad stuff can happen with "messing" with it too, but I've had no problems. I've made plenty of changes to my Palm 800W within the