Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    I know my connections have been insecure, but now that it has been publicized and the firesheep plugin has been released, I am very concerned about my Pre and WiFi out in the world.

Lamely, I have not provided links, but as you are probably aware, Firesheep can steal the cookies and sidejack accounts on most of the social sites. this INCLUDES gmail, facebook, twiiter etc.

So, in the past I have kept my WiFi on for my Pre as I walk about town. It logs into Starbucks for example if I am in there.

The autosync feature of my pre will automatically log onto some of the services that Firesheep can steal.

Therefore, I am looking for someway to insert VPN into the WiFi path of my phone and I guess disable automatic syncing of e-mail, or at lease automatic insecure WiFi log on.

While I can poke around the internals of my Pre and do some experienced user stuff, I am no expert at Linux security etc.

I am wondering if the real gurus of these forums have done any thinking about this and could proffer some ideas??

db
    I'd like to see this happen.
    The autosync feature of my pre will automatically log onto some of the services that Firesheep can steal.
    Is it logging in each time though or are the services storing log in cookies between sessions?

Not that it helps secure you from Firesheep if you did need to log in but might make the phone slightly more secure if the cookies are stored already.
  4.    #4  
    Quote Originally Posted by whodo_voodoo View Post
    Is it logging in each time though or are the services storing log in cookies between sessions?

Not that it helps secure you from Firesheep if you did need to log in but might make the phone slightly more secure if the cookies are stored already.
    Well my understanding is that Firesheep grabs the cookies as they transmit. So, either way, no?
    Quote Originally Posted by dbtrade View Post