1.    #1  
    I finally set up my contacts to sync with Facebook and found that to be a big mistake. I have quite a number of FB contacts that I know that I'll never contact from my Pre, mainly people that I graduated from high school with over 10 years ago. Does anyone know if it is in the works to get selective syncing with Facebook and Yahoo (Messenger primarily) that would allow syncing just who I want from these services, or be able to delete the contact from the phone but leave them in contact on the source website?

Maybe add something to the Contact Account Preferences to make the contact sync selectable. After the initial sync, the login page does display how many contacts are available. I could almost see clicking on that indicator to get a detailed list of the contacts and have a tap the name to activate or deactivate the sync with that service.

Am I the only one that would be interested in a feature like this?
    When I started using universal search, I had no problem with having more contacts. In fact, it was nice to know that any person I had befriended on facebook, I could shoot an email if I needed to (many people don't put in their cell phones so it doesn't work *as well* for quick emergency calls)
    I have over 5000 contacts because I have been in business for 25 years. In business its often not what you know, its who you know. Many of these contacts I will probably never contact again but then again you never know when you might need a patent attorney, congressman or a certain type of sales person. All of which are in my Pre if I ever need to reach out to them.

When I do, I just start typing their name. I never scroll through my contacts because that would take forever.

As subversiveasset said, the key is to just use Universal search and then it does not matter how many people are in your contact list.