webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Discussion >  webOS Synergy and Synchronization > HOWTO Transfer Contacts from Palm Profile to Gmail/Yahoo! Mail. Easier Way!!!
HOWTO Transfer Contacts from Palm Profile to Gmail/Yahoo! Mail. Easier Way!!!
Like Tree1Likes

Old 11/18/2009, 10:54 PM   #1 (permalink)

Ok first, this process sounds difficult but it should go fairly smoothly, provided you have a sprint store (that's not full of ***** employees) nearby. I work as a repair tech at a sprint store and have done this many times and KNOW it works.

First you need to take your Pre/Pixi into a Sprint store and explain to the employee what you need to do. Hopefully he/she won't be completely mesmerized by your request.

MAKE SURE YOU ALREADY HAVE YOUR GMAIL/YAHOO ACCOUNT SET UP AS YOUR DEFAULT CONTACTS ACCOUNT WHEN YOU GO IN.

At the store, they should have a device called a Cellebrite, that is used to transfer contacts from one phone to another. I assume every Sprint store out there has one.. I have been to a great many (both corporate and indirect) and EVERY ONE has had one of these.

All you need the employee to do is setup the Cellebrite to transfer from one Pre to another, and use your device on both the sending and receiving end of it.

After the device is unplugged from the Cellebrite, it will prompt you to upload your contacts to one of your contacts accounts. CHOOSE GOOGLE!!!! Leave your phone alone for a while so it can upload your information.

Now leave the store, go home, log onto your Gmail and look at all of your glorious contacts! You might have some duplicates if some contacts were already in your Google account before, but they are easy to get rid of from your computer.