1.    #1  
    Hey,

I didn't know where else to post this. Everytime I add my University E-mail account to the Pre (an @mail.usf.edu account), I get a message about auto sync failing, and I get an option to manually sync. I'm not too tech savvy, so I don't know how to go about manually syncing. If anybody could help me, that'd be great.

Sorry for the n00b question.
    Quote Originally Posted by FluffedMojo View Post
    Hey,

I didn't know where else to post this. Everytime I add my University E-mail account to the Pre (an @mail.usf.edu account), I get a message about auto sync failing, and I get an option to manually sync. I'm not too tech savvy, so I don't know how to go about manually syncing. If anybody could help me, that'd be great.

Sorry for the n00b question.

I mean this in the most helpful way possible. If that's all the more you know about email syncing, I would recommend that you start by talking to your school's IT department.

You'll need to know all sorts of things, like whether they have POP3, IMAP or Exchange mail, whether or not they even have support for any kind of external sync, server names, domains, all kinds of stuff.

If all that sounded like greek, save yourself some headache and just ask IT.
    You'll need to configure the account manually. Get the IT help desk on the phone, manually configure the account, and ask them for the information required by each field in the email account preferences card.

IMO, you want to use EAS if they support it (they won't), then IMAP, and finally POP3 as a last option. Any of these protocols will get the job done, but POP3 has more issues than the others when accessing the same account from multiple devices. That said, the Pre handles it well.

Good luck.
    Global Posts
    506 Global Posts