1. tuz
    Global Posts
    149 Global Posts
    I searched but I can't believe nobody has asked this before.

There are a million things I love about Gmail, which I've been using for something like 4 years now. Stars, labels, filters, labs, many of which are especially helpful when you're using a computer with full keyboard and all that jazz.

But what really sets Gmail apart for me is the conversations. Never EVER again will I tolerate a list of separate messages that belong in one place. Treo got it right with their texting application and it looks like the Pre will have this and take it one step further-ish.

The treo's mail client, Versamail I think it's called, seems completely useless to me. I just opened it up (for maybe the 5th time ever) and it tried to download 406 messages and then said my settings were for only the past 1 day so I can't even test it. But from what I remember, using Versamail for my gmail account removes everything I like about working with Gmail, including conversations, so messages come in separately like I was in dumb old hotmail (unless they've since adapted conversations). So I just use Blazer to access my email through m.gmail.com (or whichever URL decides it actually wants to work on any given day).

Does anyone know if the Pre's email client will make me feel like I'm actually using gmail, or will I just let that app go by the wayside and get my email through the internet?
    I haven't heard whether you will be able to group by conversations or not, but certainly it can be threaded by contact.

Not sure to what extent other gmail features will be supported, but a gmail app for the Pre is a no-brainer. I would think that you'll see such a thing if there are features that are not supported (some of which will be missing due to IMAP, I think).