Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    I keep reading that the Pre doesn't necessarily do a hotsync as we are used to with Outlook, for example. They say you can update info from Gmail to your Pre, or Outlook to your Pre (if you use Exchange), but Gmail does not support tasks yet. It supports calendar and email only.

So, what if I don't have Exchange? How do I get tasks to the Pre?

I really hope Palm has thought through these things, or they could have a lot of unhappy campers the morning after, so to speak.
    Quote Originally Posted by MisterB View Post
    Same here
    After all the buzz/hype about the Pre, I'm sitting here now worrying if it will ever suffice for me. I've been an avid Palm user, since the original PalmPilot 1000. I'm a physician, and have 9 years of archived calendar events, 650 Memo's (mainly medical references), and about 50 Tasks on my Treo 755p. I've always HotSync'd daily with my home computer, and do NOT use MS Outlook or Exchange. Palm Desktop software has always been adequate (though not ideal) for me. I'd like to hear some official word re 1) whether any kind of desktop software and sync option will be forthcoming 2) how can I still create Memos and Tasks 3) how long before Epocrates, and various Medical References will be available for the Pre (if ever). As impressive as the Pre sounds, I fear I'll be forced to wait on the sidelines until these issues are clarified.
    Quote Originally Posted by MisterB View Post
    I keep reading that the Pre doesn't necessarily do a hotsync as we are used to with Outlook, for example. They say you can update info from Gmail to your Pre, or Outlook to your Pre (if you use Exchange), but Gmail does not support tasks yet. It supports calendar and email only.

I really hope Palm has thought through these things, or they could have a lot of unhappy campers the morning after, so to speak.