Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1.    #1  
    Hi,

    as I just described in a thread in the Pre/Pre+ forum, my old Pre+ is now a "new" device, because it got wiped as being "no longer connected to your profile".

    Strangely, at least some patches are still there (all those that change the look and feel in an obvious way).

    Is it safe to start over with the patches already in place?

    ...or should I first get rid of the patches (HOW?) and really start my installation from scratch?

    Regards,

    Jochen
  2. #2  
    It's safe. All the remote wipe procedure does is remove user profile-specific and/or private data, like purchase/installed apps, notes, call/sms history, browser bookmarks and so on. It does not verify system file "integrity", and what patches and themes do is modify system files.

    So go ahead and sign on to your Palm Profile or create a new one if you're using the old profile on another phone.

    If you want a truly clean install, if for example you're giving the phone away to a member of your family, just Doctor it. WebOS Doctor ROMs are available on the HP website, or you can use direct links provided in the webOS Internals wiki.

Similar Threads

  1. Wiped out my Sprint Palm Pre
    By Vyktureous in forum Palm Pre and Pre Plus
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01/24/2011, 11:05 AM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05/18/2010, 03:18 PM
  3. webos 1.3.5 update wiped out my patches.
    By mtackett1 in forum webOS Patches
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01/08/2010, 11:37 PM
  4. Treo 600 and left-handed people
    By AdamF in forum Palm OS Devices & Apps
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08/31/2004, 01:05 PM
  5. Scroll Bar to the Left for left-handed people?
    By gmoj in forum Palm OS Devices & Apps
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07/30/2004, 06:44 PM

Posting Permissions