webOS Nation Forums >  Homebrew >  webOS Patches > [PATCH] Change calendar/contact sync frequency (2.2.4) - testers wanted
[PATCH] Change calendar/contact sync frequency (2.2.4) - testers wanted
Like Tree3Likes
  • 3 Post By greenoyster

Old 07/20/2012, 01:06 AM   #1 (permalink)

Hi there. This is my first attempt at publishing a patch.

This patch for webOS 2.2.4 lets you change how often calendars and contacts sync for Google, Yahoo, Facebook, and LinkedIn.

webOS normally syncs Google and Yahoo every 20 minutes, and Facebook and LinkedIn every 24 hours, with no way to change the frequency. Another way of looking at it is that if you have a Google account and a Yahoo account (or two Google accounts, etc) with calendar and contacts for both, your phone is syncing up to 2 x 2 x 3 = 12 times per hour.

This patch, which requires Tweaks, allows you to change the sync frequency to 15m, 20m, 30m, 1h, 3h, 6h, 24h, or 48h. It also allows you to disable syncing when wifi is not available, or when the battery is below some percentage.

So far I've only done some limited testing, so I need your help. If you're running 2.2.4, are technically-inclined and not afraid to get your feet wet -- or have to remove/readd your accounts, or in the worst case, doctor your device -- then please try this out.

EDIT: Now available in Preware!

First, I'm assuming you already have Tweaks and WebOS Quick Install set up. Install the attached patch. Then take the attached tweakable-pimsync-frequency.json.txt and rename it to tweakable-pimsync-frequency.json . Install the json file to /media/cryptofs/apps/usr/palm/services/org.webosinternals.tweaks.prefs/preferences/ on the device.

After that, you can open Tweaks and change the sync settings under the "contacts" and "calendar" categories. The changes will not take affect until you sync each account -- you can do this easily by opening the contacts/calendar app and selecting "sync now" from the menu.