1.    #1  
    Howdy all!

If most of you haven't noticed by now, by my previous posts of questions ontop of questions (which have all be quickly answered, this community rocks, and I can't thank you all enough), I'm still fairly new to WebOS. I know how to install and uninstall patches and themes, overclock, etc, etc, etc... But...I've never been around for an update (I picked up my Pre literary a day or two after 1.4.5 hit), and I don't know what I should do with all my patches, themes and Govnah.

With the recent hint HPalm shot out, I thought I'd better ask this before I ruin my device.

Any input, advise, instructions, etc. would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
    Ted
    LG Venus -> Palm Prē Plus -> Apple iPhone 5 -> HP Veer -> HP Prē 3 -> HTC One (M8)
    01/19/2011, 08:42 PM #2 (permalink)
    VeeDubb65

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This is one that comes up with every update. The vast majority of your apps (probably all of them) will continue to work fine. Any that don't, will just sit there until you uninstall them or they get update.

As for patches, pretty much any patch that is installed through Preware or WebOSQuickInstall will be safe to leave in place. However, they will be replaced with 'dummy packages' on your first updated, and will stay that way until they are re-done for the new OS version. Because WebOS 2.0 is such a MASSIVE upgrade, I'll be removing all of mine just in case, but that's just because I'm paranoid.

All themes should be removed before any update.

virtually the same question in another thread started almost the same time as yours was answered above
    Due to the cancellation of the penny, I no longer give 2 about anything. I may however, give a nickel
    Global Posts
    360 Global Posts
    So, you will remove all patches, but not apps? When will you remove them? (I'm also too new to know what I'm supposed to do.)