1.    #1  
    I've been using the Glass Launcher patch for as long as it's been out, and have recently stumbled upon the Glass Effects Suite theme. I've been patching my Pre since the day after the O2 Germany launch, but I've never used themes before.

I took the plunge yesterday because the Glass Effects Suite looks so damn gorgeous, and I am very happy with it. I have however noticed that ever since I installed it, I am losing battery quite faster than I was before; when idling at my bedside during the night, my phone usually eats around 1.7 - 1.9 % per hour. Since installing the theme, idling usage has gone up to 3.8% per hour - it's doubled. It's still on the tolerable side (ah the days of 1.2, when 8%/h were a welcome sight) but I'm still wondering.

(I usually touchstone my Pre during the night but I will do battery test nights whenever I modify anything in a big way and also do periodical tests when there are no changes just to know my 'baseline' and whether it's still right. Conditions are always the same: Lying face-up at my bedside, wifi enabled, with only battery monitor running with its default refresh rate.)

As I believe that the theme itself doesn't 'do' anything and just exchanges stock graphics for different ones (please correct me if I'm wrong here), I'm looking at Diffstat for a suspect. I've checked out what it does, but I'm not a very technical person and while I kind of understand its purpose from what I've found I'm unsure whether it's something that's constantly running or whether it's something that only gets accessed and used on demand.

Is Diffstat a service or daemon type always-on thing or more like a sort of 'app'? Has it been known to cause battery drain or should I look for other causes?