webOS Nation Forums >  Homebrew >  webOS Patches > [Patch Request] GBP () Symbol rather than $
[Patch Request] GBP () Symbol rather than $
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By checkmate

Old 12/03/2009, 12:33 PM   #1 (permalink)

I know most of you guy out there are from the US and so not having a sign on the keyboard probably isn't that much of an issue but for us GSM users in the UK it's annoying that the $ key doesn't automatically type a for us instead. It's time consuming having to go into the symbol list every time we want to type the price of something!

I'm not a programmer so I may be talking rubbish but I can't imagine that this would be too difficult - correct me if i'm wrong!

Is there someone out there who could write a patch for this, it would be very useful?!
icklepriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked By: Ben_K
Old 12/03/2009, 12:38 PM   #2 (permalink)

Phones sold in the UK have the $ sign on the keyboard??? That's crazy...
samkim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/03/2009, 12:40 PM   #3 (permalink)

^ Yeah it's very annoying! Even if they hadn't changed the symbol on the physical keyboard but changed it's output to '' it would be ok but atm we still just get '$'!

Last edited by icklepriest; 12/03/2009 at 12:45 PM. Reason: typo
Old 12/04/2009, 02:58 PM   #4 (permalink)

After playing around with the keyboard, I noticed that hitting the Sym key, followed by the 'h' key brought up an abbreviated symbol pop-up for currencies. You may have known this, but this was new to me. So this is better than manually searching through the full symbols table.

But I noticed that the British pound symbol was third in the list - so you have to hit [Sym] [h] [h] [h] [Enter] instead of [Orange] [h] - 5 presses instead of 2.

I found a simple way of changing the order of the symbols - so that British pound comes first. This reduces the number of key presses to 3: [Sym] [h] [Enter]