Global Posts
    412 Global Posts
    I know there are probably a few threads similar to this, but I don't know what else to do.

Let me start by saying I am a big time beginner on this.

I want to have homebrew apps and patches. Here's what I've done so far:

I am able to enter Developer Mode.

I downloaded Preware and it recognizes the device (I downloaded all of the programs needed for that). I am able to find homebrew apps through Preware and put them on my Pre. HOWEVER, a Preware icon never did appear on my launch screen. So there is no way for me to access Preware on my Pre.

I went to the list of patches here: Index of /feeds/webos-patches/1.3.1

I then clicked on the ones I wanted (about five total), and they downloaded to my desktop automatically. Then, I tried to add them to my device using Preware. But I just get error messages every time. I did some research and it seems I have to root my Pre. I've tried downloading Palm Mojo SDK, but I can't get the email from them to verify my email address. On top of that, I have no idea if I'll be able to handle what comes next (DOS?!).

All I really want is: the date next to the time at the top, default calendar view to month view, and all-day events shown on calendar's month view, and to get rid of the NFL and Nascar apps.

Am I in over my head? Can anyone help me? I'm seriously confused and don't know what else to do. I'm at the point of hoping someone lives nearby who can do this for me. (I live in Dallas, TX.)

Thanks in advance!!!
    What if this whole crusade's a charade? -Trent Reznor
    how did you install preware? Through WebOS QuickInstall?
    if the patches are on your desktop preware has nothing to do with it. It sounds like you are getting Preware and WebOS Quick install confused
    If you're in developer mode, run the installer at Index of /

If you're on a Windows PC use the .exe, otherwise use the .jar (if you use the .jar you'll have to make sure you have Java installed).