webOS Nation Forums >  Homebrew >  WebOS Internals > Bluetooth A2DP audio fix kernel
Bluetooth A2DP audio fix kernel

Old 11/25/2011, 02:56 PM   #1 (permalink)

So ive been looking into this bluetooth sound quality issue (sound quality of music over a2dp to bluetooth stereo devices is just terrible)

and apparently in linux the bluetooth stack is run in the kernel, and this is where you change the "bitpool" (the quality at which bluetooth audio is sent)

Android and webOS have it set to a maximum of 32, which only allows 32khz of audio. Most audio is 44Khz, and thus the recommended max bitpool is 52. (some overhead for good measure)

I have come across kernel fixes for it in Android,

UnixPsycho and RWhitby, is there anyway we can appropriate these kernel fixes to fix the issue in webOS?

I am attaching all the resources I found.

I am a web programmer, this kernel stuff might as well be written in cantonese, but I am hoping someone here can understand it and run with it.

[Q] Bluetooth Bitpool Setting - Compiled into the kernel? - xda-developers

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=708685

Looks like Cyanogen sets the bitpool based on sampling frequency, which makes sense. For high sample rates they use 31, for low samples they use 53.

Code repository for Cyanogen Froyo is here https://github.com/CyanogenMod/andro...udio/ipctest.c

Code:
static uint8_t a2dp_default_bitpool(uint8_t freq, uint8_t mode)
{
	switch (freq) {
	case BT_SBC_SAMPLING_FREQ_16000:
	case BT_SBC_SAMPLING_FREQ_32000:
		return 53;

case BT_SBC_SAMPLING_FREQ_44100:

switch (mode) {
		case BT_A2DP_CHANNEL_MODE_MONO:
		case BT_A2DP_CHANNEL_MODE_DUAL_CHANNEL:
			return 31;

case BT_A2DP_CHANNEL_MODE_STEREO:
		case BT_A2DP_CHANNEL_MODE_JOINT_STEREO:
			return 53;

default:
			DBG("Invalid channel mode %u", mode);
			return 53;
		}
Lets fix the audio over bluetooth qualit once and for all!
rmausser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/25/2011, 03:05 PM   #2 (permalink)

Nice find.