1.    #1  
    No idea what I did to cause this particular snafu, but I did it sometime in the last six days. If someone would kindly tell me where to look and what I'm looking for, I'd appreciate it greatly. sshd is such a lovely daemon- I feel so lost without it on my metadoctored Pre-.

I've been a Unix sysadmin for about 20 years now, so this discussion can get as technical as it needs to be.
    does it manually mount as read only?

I had this happen once.

try losetup -a to see if the loop is already setup. It won't mount rw if it's already setup
  3.    #3  
    Quote Originally Posted by frantid View Post

I had this happen once.

try losetup -a to see if the loop is already setup. It won't mount rw if it's already setup
    losetup -a returns nothing. I haven't tried a manual mount simply because at 4am (and really trying to solve a different problem entirely) I didn't have enough brain left to go look up Linux loopback mounts. (an on device man pages app - ISAGN)
  4.    #4  
    Quote Originally Posted by frantid View Post

I had this happen once.

Ok. I was successfully able to set up the loop and mount it rw.

(for those of you playing along at home:
    # losetup /dev/loop/0 /media/cryptofs/optware.ext3
    # mount /dev/loop/0 /opt
    )

I can now start sshd and login remotely, which will make life easier - as long as I don't reboot the phone, in which case I need to mount /opt by hand again.

To make this permanent, do I edit /etc/fstab, is there some init or upstart script that's gone missing, or do I do/restore something else entirely?
    optware bootstrap in Preware is what normally does it.

"org.webosinternals.optware" in the bootstrap ipk.
    French Pre3, UK Pre2, US Veer, German gsm Pre, 680, garmin ique 3600 & still have my working palm pilot 1000 with the 1 Mb adapter

Please remove UberCalendar and google sync behavior patches prior to system updates.