1.    #1  
    Hi everyone I am new to Palm but so far I am very happy with it. I have been reading about the advantages of installing preware but cannot seem to be able to nail it. I have webOS version 1.4.5
    I installed WebOS Quick Install v3.14 but continue getting an error message. These are the steps I am following.

Installing Preware with WebOS Quick Install
    You can use version 3.14 or later of WebOS Quick Install to install Preware directly from the WebOS Internals feed.
    Latest Version of WebOS Quick Install available here: WebOS Quick Install v3.14
    1. Install the required Software
    1. Click here to verify that you have the latest java installed on your computer and update if needed
    2. Click here to download the current webOS Doctor for your carrier and phone in a subdirectory your will remember (maybe "Palm"?). If you already have it, skip this step.
     Do not run the webOS Doctor
    3. Click Here to download the latest version of WebOS Quick Install
    2. Put your device in Developer Mode
    3. Connect your device to your computer with the USB cable, and select "Just Charge" (do not select USB Drive)
    4. Run WebOS Quick Install
    5. Click the third button on the right (Blue Down Arrow)
    6. Choose WebOS Internals Feed (Pre) or WebOS Internals Feed (Pixi) from the drop-down list at the top.
    7. Select Preware from the list.
    8. Click Download.
    9. Click Close.
    10. Click Install.

Can anybody help me?
    What's the error you're getting?
    In WebOS Quick Install, go to File > Options. Click the 'Attempt Novacom (re)installation' button.

See if that helps.

Also, have you put your phone in Developer Mode? On the home screen, type "webos20090606" (don't type the quotes). A Developer Mode Icon will pop up. Tap it. Set the switch to 'On'. Your phone will ask you to reboot; Do so. Now your phone is in Developer Mode, which is required to use WebOS Quick Install.