webOS Nation Forums >  Homebrew >  WebOS Internals > SR71 Blackbird, F105 Thunderchief, & F104 Starfighter testing kernels
SR71 Blackbird, F105 Thunderchief, & F104 Starfighter testing kernels
  Reply
Like Tree4Likes

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08/01/2010, 06:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
unixpsycho's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,334
This Thread is for feedback on F105 Thunderchief and SR71 Blackbird kernels This is not a "How-To thread", this is for serious testers only. Spamming the thread with irrelevance will most likely get you flamed by someone.

Both kernels are available. Check your local neighborhood testing feed.

When posting problems or bugs please specify kernel name and version.

Basic guidelines for install:
  • You know how to doctor
  • You have some kind of idea how to do a memboot (well, not really, but would be nice).
  • You know something about Linux, not necessarily a guru.
  • You can do basic debugging in case of crash or hang.
  • You have a strong command of how to use a Pre.
Those with "weak" Pre's: DO NOT INSTALL! If you do, have the Doctor ready.

Features in common codebase:
  • 1.2GHz (SR71) or 1.005GHz (F105)
  • Temp monitoring and scaling
  • Voltage selection
  • Memory tweaks in kernel (no more TMC errors)
  • Compcache disabled by default (unlike previous F10x kernels)

Misc Features:
  • Temp monitoring. Over 55C it scales down to 500MHz. This is now selectable via /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/override/
  • Wall charging (1000mA) and Touchstone will scale to 500MHz, USB charging stays at max speed.
  • LCD off: scale to policy->min, LCD on: scale to policy->max
  • Voltage selection for each frequency. Via /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/override/
  • Govnah is recommended for tweaking, esp voltage and temp settings.

New features added during lifecycle:
  • Screenstate charger override
  • Battery scaling
  • Ondemand Tickle Governor
  • Screenstate v2 w/ vdemand
  • Screenstate v3 w/ ondemand & vdemand

Info on my kernels: Application:PsychoKernel - WebOS Internals

Recovery: How To Recover - WebOS Internals

How to memboot after finding out your Pre wears pink underwear:
Pre:Pre2:
Put your Pre into recovery mode.

Run novacom:
Linux:
Code:
/opt/Palm/novacom/novacom boot mem:// < uImage-2.6.24-palm-joplin-3430

or (for Pre2)

/opt/Palm/novacom/novacom boot mem:// < uImage-2.0.1-pre2
Windows:
Code:
cd \program files\palm\sdk\bin
novacom boot mem:// < uImage-2.6.24-palm-joplin-3430

or (for Pre2)

novacom boot mem:// < uImage-2.0.1-pre2
Mac: (Contributed by sd_matto)
Code:
1. Install PalmSDK (and novacom drives therein). This will install the necessary novacom binary (under /opt/nova/bin) and add that to your program path.
2. Download the stock kernel (from links above)
3. Open Terminal window (under /Applications/Utilities)
4. Type "cd ~/Downloads" (or other path to your downloaded kernel)
5. Type "novacom boot mem:// < uImage-2.0.1-pre2"
If all else fails: Palm Support : 6Ts: Six ways to get your Palm webOS phone working again

Disclaimer:
You warranty will be voided!
This assumes you have a firm grip on reality. Overclocking can damage a phone. I take no responsibility for melted Pre's or screwed up installs. Overclocking works for me and countless others. If you aren't sure then DON'T DO IT! If it doesn't work for you and are looking for someone to blame send flames to /dev/null. You have been warned!
__________________
Live free or DIE!

Last edited by unixpsycho; 05/06/2011 at 12:07 PM.
unixpsycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked by Tristanlogd, sshaka and lephilwld like this.
Old 08/01/2010, 06:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member
 
vza33's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,176
+1 It can't be stated any clearer than that.
__________________
"Patience, use the force, think." Obi-Wan


Ready to try Preware? Get this first: Preware Homebrew Documentation
vza33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 06:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
Posts: 639
great great thread. I have f105 and the phone runs smooth and crisp.
nabril1569 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 06:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
Posts: 143
Just got the update from Preware. Given the TMC is disabled by default, is there any reason to enable Compcache in the 105?
Babywayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 06:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
unixpsycho's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,334
Quote:
Originally Posted by Babywayne View Post
Just got the update from Preware. Given the TMC is disabled by default, is there any reason to enable Compcache in the 105?
You mean compcache is disabled?

Compcache will give you more working memory and a little performance boost when swapping. But it all depends on workload. It can sometimes be choppy.
__________________
Live free or DIE!
unixpsycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 06:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
hofs1's Avatar
 
Posts: 460
"Houston, we are cooking"...Yeh

F105-85 seems as stable as stock kernel imop. Will update later tonight.
__________________
T300 - T600 - T650 - T700p - T755p - T800w - Pre
hofs1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 06:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Posts: 3,263
How do I install these Kernals... Just Kidding! Im glad your back. Already installed and watching performance.

Last edited by rush; 08/01/2010 at 08:34 PM.
RUSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 07:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Member
 
unixpsycho's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,334
Quote:
Originally Posted by rush View Post
How do I install these kernels... Just Kidding! Im glad your back. Already installed and watching performance.
Didnt you mean to say "kernAl".
__________________
Live free or DIE!
unixpsycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked By: mjkjr
Old 08/01/2010, 07:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Posts: 3,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by unixpsycho View Post
Didnt you mean to say "kernAl".
Yep, I think you're so right. lets have a drink.
RUSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 07:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Member
 
squeeezy's Avatar
 
Posts: 394
Instructions on how to jail-break?

Glad to see you're back. I've been running SR71 since it's last update in the test feed, assuming you haven't changed it's location for obvious reasons.

Things have been smooth for me, no heat issues, no reboot issues, smooth sailing all the way across.
squeeezy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 07:23 PM   #11 (permalink)
Member
 
KJBlauw's Avatar
 
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by squeezy View Post
Instructions on how to jail-break?

Glad to see you're back. I've been running SR71 since it's last update in the test feed, assuming you haven't changed it's location for obvious reasons.

Things have been smooth for me, no heat issues, no reboot issues, smooth sailing all the way across.
+1 been running blackbird without any problems. Great to see you back marco!
KJBlauw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 08:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
Member
 
Posts: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by unixpsycho View Post
You mean compcache is disabled?
Thanks for that! I stopped using after my Pre Plus upgrade.
wprater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 08:28 PM   #13 (permalink)
Member
 
Posts: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by unixpsycho View Post
Didnt you mean to say "kernAl".
OMG! I wanted to say something about that SO MANY times. No one ever complained, so I just let it go.
wprater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 08:31 PM   #14 (permalink)
Member
 
Posts: 240
Im running F105-88, is compcache supposed to be enabled by default? I just installed and reboot, but its enabled after bootup (says Govnah).
wprater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 08:38 PM   #15 (permalink)
Member
 
unixpsycho's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,334
Quote:
Originally Posted by wprater View Post
Im running F105-88, is compcache supposed to be enabled by default? I just installed and reboot, but its enabled after bootup (says Govnah).
That is for new installs. If you had a Govnah profile before with it enabled it will stay that way.

Previous F10x kernel packages had a 20MiB compcache hardcoded without needing Govnah.
__________________
Live free or DIE!
unixpsycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 08:48 PM   #16 (permalink)
Member
 
jayjam99's Avatar
 
Posts: 202
Ahhhhhh.....SO glad to see you back Marco! How was vacation?
jayjam99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 10:57 PM   #17 (permalink)
Member
 
Posts: 25
Welcome back, Marco. F105-88 is installed and things are stable on my "weak" Pre. 35-38 degrees on a light load, 41-42 degrees while pushing it a little. (Only the first 20 min)
blessedkdg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/01/2010, 11:23 PM   #18 (permalink)
Member
 
zulfaqar621#AC's Avatar
 
Posts: 608
I'd like to also say how happy I am to see you are back being active on the boards. Doesn't seem like you took to much time away from coding though, thanks for the updates on the kernels.

I'm running SR71-84 on a Sprint Palm Pre. I have had couple reboots since the upgrade from 83 but nothing to serious. Temp. has been very normal and battery consumption is about on average.

I am having one issue that cropped up after the upgrade from 83 to 84 and can't pin point if it is the kernel or something else going on. I figured I have the ears of the people in know so I would get it out there. If I move my icons around in the launcher pages, once I reboot my phone all my stock icons go to there stock position and all my apps I have downloaded (Palm App catalog or Preware) go the first page of the launcher. I was wondering if any one else has experienced this and if anyone knows of a fix?
zulfaqar621#AC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/02/2010, 12:28 AM   #19 (permalink)
Member
 
ChillHill's Avatar
 
Posts: 84
I've been using the SR71-84 for about a week now. My CPU temps seem to jump around quite a bit. Most of the time it's at about 32-35, but then other times it's around 45. One time when I wasn't doing anything to heavy (maybe had 1-2 apps open) and just on the web, I noticed I was getting artifacts and I checked my CPU temp and it was at 55 and rising it was out of nowhere. I quickly took the battery out. Ive gotten random artifacts ever since here and there. Nothing too crazy, I feel as if a normal user would never notice them, but I sure do. Anyways just giving back. Hope to help.
ChillHill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/02/2010, 12:30 AM   #20 (permalink)
Member
 
Posts: 129
I had the same issue while testing SR71. Every reboot or Luna restart would reset launcher page, also it would remove any added pages. Went back to F105 and that problem is gone now. F105-88 so far is working flawlessly.
dballew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

 

Tags
kernel, sr71 f105

Thread Tools
Display Modes



 


Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0