1.    #1  
    i'm a little new at this but I did do some searching before considering posting this question (and I also hope I made the right choice of subforum).

i've read about the dangers of having a rooted pre, and while I didn't understand all the security implications, I did get the message that it wasn't something I should attempt without a lot more education.

so i've been very happy using WOQI & preware to access all the great applications and patches.

and then I found a need to troubleshoot my home wifi network because classic wasn't hotsyncing, and I remembered a command called 'ping' so I downloaded the terminal app (and service of course). It worked great!

so here's the question: the prompt in the terminal app says "root@palm-webos-device"... And the screenshots of rooted pres seem to say "root@castle"... What is the difference? And does that difference make the distinction between using the terminal app and "rooting" the device (with it's security caveats)?

thanks for your time!
    Rooting is a missused term when talking about a Pre. It carried over from android. You don't "root" a Pre. That implies that a rooted Pre and a non rooted Pre are different.

When you root a Pre you are only temporary accessing the Linux prompt. It's like opening a command line in windows. Did you "root" your windows because you opened up a command line? (hold windows key and press r. enter "cmd" OMGZ you just rooted Windows!!!!)
    No you didn't change anything. You just opened a terminal. Same situation on webOS.

So when you see people say "rooted Pre" or something, what they should be saying is I accessed Linux or I opened the terminal or command line.

IDK why there is a slight difference in the root@castle but opening terminal app on the Pre is the same as opening the terminal anywhere else. You are doing the same thing: Accessing Linux.
    Quote Originally Posted by lazycheese View Post