Page 213 of 305 FirstFirst ... 113163203208209210211212213214215216217218223263 ... LastLast
Results 4,241 to 4,260 of 6094
    Im new to the pre i already have downloaded the web-os quick installer, I have a few good apps and themes. There was a link to type into an app like file coaster,I then retyped the link into the file coaster and its been downloading for a while now. How long does this usually take and will i be able to launch the preware app from here. thanks jim
    Quote Originally Posted by laynloest2005 View Post
    Im new to the pre i already have downloaded the web-os quick installer, I have a few good apps and themes. There was a link to type into an app like file coaster,I then retyped the link into the file coaster and its been downloading for a while now. How long does this usually take and will i be able to launch the preware app from here. thanks jim
    You can't use filecoaster to download Preware.

Just use Preware and there will be nothing to type, just click. Here are the instructions:

Getting Started: Preware

- Craig
    Last edited by milominderbinder; 12/14/2009 at 02:21 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by milominderbinder View Post
    I understand that an ipkg package file can install multiple files at one time.

Is there any reason that an ipkg file cannot also install a service as it installs an app?

I understand that a reboot might need to be set in the postinst.

- Craig
    An ipkg file that contains a service (whether the service is by itself, or combined with something else in the ipkg file) requires a post-install script to be run as part of the installation, and therefore must be installed using an advanced homebrew installer with Preware or WebOS Quick Install.

Preware and the Package Manager Service are two separate applications, because other front-end packages like Luna Manager and PreLoad use the Package Manager Service.

Rebooting is irrelevant.

-- Rod
    WebOS Internals and Preware Founder and Developer