1.    #1  
    A simple little application to show the chmod mode based on what you want to change your linux / unix file permissions to.

Includes SUID and Sticky bits.

I wrote it primarily as a learning experience in WebOS development. I had an app like this for PalmOS that someone else wrote YEARS ago, and I thought it would be nice to have native on the Pre.

Please send me any feedback / suggestions, or post them to this thread.

chmod is in the homebrew gallery here.

Changelog:

- Added umask calculation

- Initial release

Github: https://github.com/dwburke/chmod-for-WebOS.git
    Last edited by smstnitc; 05/06/2011 at 04:34 PM.
    This is a bunch of Linux stuff, right?
    chmod is a Unix command to assign permissions to a file. Linux uses it as well obviously.
    RWX is Read Write and Execute permissions.

Useful app, thanks!
    Systems Analyst by trade, Drummer by desire and Music Lover by birth. A self proclaimed Geek and gadget nut. ii

Did you know: The Pittsburgh Steelers have more championships than 21 other NFL teams combined!
    Pittsburgh Steelers-6 Time Super Bowl Champions!

Pittsburgh Penguins-3 Time Stanley Cup Champions!
  4.    #4  
    Quote Originally Posted by Colonel Kernel View Post
    This is a bunch of Linux stuff, right?
    Sorry for the confusion. I live and breathe linux, writing a lot of back-end code in c/c++ and perl for a living, so documentation isn't my strongest ability

I tweaked the description, so it should be clearer now.

Dan.
    Last edited by smstnitc; 08/10/2009 at 10:28 PM.
    @smstnitc, I'm guessing you use a custom service?
    Last edited by Jason Robitaille; 08/10/2009 at 10:52 PM.
  6.    #6  
    Quote Originally Posted by Jason Robitaille View Post
    Not sure I follow...

Dan.
    lol, nvm, I misread and though you app applies chmod changes to files on the device. Very useful app nonetheless
    Global Posts
    506 Global Posts