Like Tree30Likes
  • 26 Post By George Mari
  • 1 Post By squall77
  • 1 Post By TJs11thPre
  • 2 Post By laingman
  1.    #1  
    On this, the 7th anniversary of the launch of webOS and the Palm Pre, I wanted to share my own history with Palm and webOS, and some reasons why, after all this time, I still use my Veer and TouchPad every day.

I work as a software developer/maintainer in my day job, starting in the late 80's. Soon after I started my career, I started having to keep track of A LOT of detailed information: meeting dates and times, contact information for co-workers, software development tasks, bugs, new feature requests, etc. It got to the point where my family and co-workers were noticing I didn't always remember things they told me, I would sometimes forget meetings, and things like dinner dates. People were getting annoyed with me, and I felt bad for letting people down. I thought maybe there was something wrong with me - other people could keep track of their life and work obligations, so why couldn't I?

One day at work, it came to a head when I went to add another Post-It note to the pile on the inside of my briefcase, and I suddenly realized - I had no more room - there was no more empty surface area on the inside of my briefcase to add even a single, additional Post-It note. I also realized that there was NO WAY I could possibly do all of the things I had on all of those notes.I had to find a better way. This was sometime around 1998.