1.    #1  
    There's been a few iterations of the App Catalog now, but the 2.1.0 one is absolutely horrible as far as I'm concerned.

I mean, seriously? If you go into the "What's New" section you can't even see a single day's worth of updates.

Really it's just bad, and I hope it's revised further in the next update.
  2.    #2  
    One, I only made one (and a half- one was an API demo) homebrew app when I was unemployed, and that was very simple Javascript stuff. Something like an App Catalog replacement is beyond my knowledge.

Two, even if I was a talented developer, don't you think that's a little ridiculous of a solution? Having to develop your own App Catalog app because Palm's built-in one no longer shows a full day's worth of apps?

And three, there are plenty of replacement App Catalog apps already, sure. But I'd bet it's maybe 90% of users (if not more) using the official Palm one, who are only seeing a small portion of the released apps even in a single day within "What's New". One of the key phrases for developers way back at the beginning of webOS development was exposure, but when things like this come up, new apps aren't getting the exposure they should.

And I don't think I'm exactly asking the impossible here, the old App Catalog application let us scroll back as far as we wanted to (even to the beginning). Maybe that's a little overkill, but it should show at least the past week's worth (and maybe even more importantly have an option to load more if the user wants).
    You can narrow it down by category for new apps. You can see what's new in games without having to see all those app book shop apps. I'd say that's better than scrolling through hundreds of apps you might not be interested in.
    I prefer the new app catalog. I find it much easier to get to apps I would actually download.

I don't understand the complaint. Not only can I browse the newest apps, but I can browse the newest apps by category.