1.    #1  
    I remember reading somewhere (admittedly a while ago) that all webOS phones would have hard keyboards. Obviously, the simple inclusion of a soft keyboard does not imply a manufacturing decision contrary to this, but it makes it all the more likely that we're going to see at least one slate device (other than the tablet) running webOS sometime in 2011.

I don't have a problem with different form factors, but ever since Palm was picked up by HP, I thought that they would give us the phone that they owed us: a phone that does the hardware keyboard right (while preferably increasing the screen size to at least 3.5"). According to everyone I've conferred with, hardware keyboards are superior to soft keyboards (sentiments that are echoed on this board as well ).

I'm not a backseat product line manager, but I've always thought that if they could combine the best of both worlds (an OS better than the iPhone with the keyboard of a Blackberry) that they could potentially scoop up defectors from both platforms.

I guess with all the slate devices from each of its competitors, HP feels as though they need to conform to compete. I maintain that if they're able to create form-factors that are attractive and have great keyboards, they'll be able to do more than just "compete".

But what do I know?

Does anyone else feel like this?
    A company unwilling to change with demand and innovation won't last very long.
    No, not really. It seems that HP/Palm will have various form factors that include some with a physical kb (both landscape kb and a vertical slider kb) and some with a virtual one. It seems like a win-win for those interested in WebOS.

Personally, I don't like landscape kb's and that would deter me from the Epic device offered by Samsung. I'd choose the Evo if I were leaving WebOS, even though it doesn't have a physical kb.
    Achill3s' Palm Pre: Modded and patched to death!!
  4.    #4  
    Quote Originally Posted by Achill3s View Post