Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Hey all, As a security network professional I just came across a link for a newly announced vulnerability in Webos. I have included the link below. Hopefully palm/hp takes security seriously and gets this patched up quickly since this info will be exposed to the scene tomorrow.

http://www.darkreading.com/vulnerabi...artphones.html
    Last edited by HelloNNNewman; 11/25/2010 at 04:29 PM. Reason: updated title
    "The most dangerous of the vulnerabilities is an injection flaw they found on the WebOS version 1.4.X that allows remote command and control, including access to a phone's files or injecting a remote JavaScript backdoor into the phone's Contacts Application to build a botnet."

Wow...
    Weird that they are just posting this information now... this was an article a few months ago.
    REpost?????/
    Dunno...the found some issues with 1.4.x in April, but were fixed right away. Here's the previous thread:

http://forums.precentral.net/general...abilities.html
    Global Posts
    196 Global Posts
    webosinternals patch request?

We all know how quickly the carriers approve Palm's updates so I suspect this one may be hanging around for awhile.

Palm really needs to build more security into the core framework. C'mon, lack of input validation? That's web dev security rule number one..
    Global Posts
    575 Global Posts
    How would this "injection flaw" be implemented, would it have to be built into an application or could it be done from the outside?

I don't know about everyone else, but I always felt fairly secure using my pre for online banking, online purchases, donations through paypal and managing sensitive info online. Never had any issues with anything. So far with my epic, I feel less secure than when I was using my pre, but I've always felt insecure about google handling my security. I guess it's not a bad thing to feel insecure about security..... ehh?