Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    The Playbook is a blatant rip off of webOS and could be good marketing for HPalm! I am no patent lawyer and i am pretty sure that RIM probably covered them selves, but i see a ton of free publicity for palm if they can sue the Playbook into into delays. If you look at the Engadget hands on post all they are talking about is webOS. All this needs is the right spin and for HPalm ro release a better product!
    This lawsuit stemmed from a number of underlying issues. A core question emerged in the final stages of the suit when a shutdown was considered imminent: Were NTP’s patents valid? Even though in 2002 a federal court established that RIM had infringed on the patents, a review of the patents by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) in 2005 and 2006 declared at least some of the patents to be invalid. While RIM and NTP were in court dealing with a possible shutdown and conducting behind-the-scenes settlement negotiations, a possibility existed that the entire exercise might be irrelevant.
    For those who haven't seen the video, you can check it out here.

Should HP/Palm Take Legal Action? | webOSroundup

After you see it, it will be obvious what a ripoff of webOS this is. Getsures, a launcher area, they even mention flipping cards off the screen to close the app. What a shame

HP should sue, they bought Palm, and own the patents of webOS, card muktitasking, etc. It would also make for great publicity, and hopefully delay the launch of the Playbook.
    I'm pretty sure palm has violated a couple of RIM's patents as well.

Most major smartphone makers seem to have violated each others patents.
    Last edited by nimer55; 11/17/2010 at 02:02 AM. Reason: changed HP to RIM
    Quote Originally Posted by johncc View Post
    ^ I guess that you meant RIM's?
    thanks, fixed it.