webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Discussion >  webOS Discussion Lounge > If I delete my facebook account, what happens to my Contacts list?
If I delete my facebook account, what happens to my Contacts list?
  Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05/29/2010, 09:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
glassadam's Avatar
 
Posts: 208
Hi all. So I'm thinking about permanently deleting my facebook account. All fine and good, right? But then I realized that half the people in my contacts list on my Pre are through facebook. I have peoples' phone numbers and stuff because they apparently put them on their facebook profiles.

So, anyway, if I do delete my facebook account, will all those contacts on my phone, and all their contact info, disappear?
__________________
THIS IS HOW WE HANDLE BUSINESS
glassadam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/29/2010, 09:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member
 
BMIC50's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,514
Yes.

I dont have a Facebook account, but if you can export the contacts and import them into Gmail or Yahoo or Palm Profile, you will be good.
__________________
Treo 300->Treo 600->Treo 650->Treo 700p-> Palm Pre-> Samsung Galaxy S II Epic 4G Touch (32GB Launch-day Touchpad sustains my webOS need for now)
BMIC50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/29/2010, 09:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
One_Deep's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,495
Try it and tell us what happens ..

But I'm sure they would all get removed just like if you deleted someone off your friend list. Why would you deleted facebook, just don't use it anymore.
One_Deep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/29/2010, 10:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
BMIC50's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,514
I found this thread that may help you transition.
__________________
Treo 300->Treo 600->Treo 650->Treo 700p-> Palm Pre-> Samsung Galaxy S II Epic 4G Touch (32GB Launch-day Touchpad sustains my webOS need for now)
BMIC50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked By: Raoul
Old 06/03/2010, 06:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
glassadam's Avatar
 
Posts: 208
New development!

2 days ago I deactivated my facebook account (which apparently is different from fully deleting the account, but I wanted to test this). Since then my contacts are still there, but I get a notification every once in a while with the Contacts icon in the corner asking me to log back into facebook. I assume this means that my contacts will stay the same as they were since the last time synergy updated. Not sure what will happen if I turn off my Pre or reset it.
__________________
THIS IS HOW WE HANDLE BUSINESS
glassadam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/03/2010, 07:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
Stevesrjr86's Avatar
 
Posts: 753
I use gmail and made a .cvs file using a patch, loaded it into my address book for gmail. I still have my fb account on my phone but if I decided to take it off completely I woulnt lose any of my contacts.
Stevesrjr86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/06/2010, 12:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Homebrew Developer
 
sshipman12's Avatar
 
Posts: 18
This is good info to see for anyone that needs it. I don't import facebook contacts into my phone but if I did and decided not to have my facebook anylonger I would have wondered also.
I use my outlook for all my contacts and sync my phone.
__________________
Shelly
DigiKat Software
DigiBar Pocket Bartender-http://developer.palm.com/webChannel...igikat.digibar
DigiPay PayPal Account Manager-http://developer.palm.com/webChannel...igikat.digipay
DigiSerial-http://developer.palm.com/webChannel...digikat.serial
DigiPoll-http://developer.palm.com/webChannel...gikat.digipoll
sshipman12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06/08/2010, 12:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Member
 
Posts: 18
QUOTE I found URL that may help you transition.

Thank you for this!
Raoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

 

Thread Tools
Display Modes



 


Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0