Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    So, I have been using patches for about 6 months now and while turning on developer mode and setting up WebOS Quick Install was a bit of a pain the whole Preware process has been amazingly easy as well as intuitive. WebOS is just so easy to patch!

Also none of these patches has yet to have any detrimental effect on my Pre.

So, this lead me to an idea for Palm to differentiate themselves from Apple, RIM and Android:

Make patches 'official' and call them 'Features' and offer a 'Features Store'.

So, instead of calling them 'patches' which the Average Joe has no idea what that is, market them as 'add-on features' that they can get after the phone is bought and add to the OS later.

I think this is better than implementing every single new patch and feature into an OS Update because:

1) Bloat: Not everyone wants 30 million different IM clients on their phone but most want a couple that are different for each user. You could just add the things you want and not have the things you dont on the phone, keeping the OS lean.

2) Conflicting Interests: some people want their phone to have the calendar open to month view. Some want week view. Etc Etc. Just like with apps, you can customize your OS so that it suits your needs. WebOS goes from one size fits all, to customizable for anyone.

Palm could then market this 'Feature Store' as something different than the iPhone, that rather than your phone being "Steve Job's phone" its your own personalized phone that fits your needs perfectly.

This is the ME generation, right?

I'm sure there would be some bugs, but really, how many? I haven't had a single issue with my patches. I mean dont make overclocking possible obviously...but patches like adding delete all to emails and everything.

You could also make a "Themes Store" too, granted Palm could get it to not conflict with updates.

This could differentiate Palm from the "closed source, you do what we tell you" nature of Apple.