1.    #1  
    Ok, so this is just an idea I came up with, and really I am looking for someone to tell me why it wouldn't be a good idea.

A big issue with the Pre is limited number of apps. Its constantly getting slagged in reviews for limited number of apps.

Why not enable android apps to run on the Pre.

Web OS runs on linux. Android runs on linux. Android is partially open source (i think) and has many apps.

How difficult technically would it be to get the Android Market and apps to work natively on the Pre? So that they just run as cards in WebOs (even if there is some emulation going on behind the scenes like with Wine)

What are the legal hurdles.

Suddenly an ad for the Palm Pre that says "runs Android Market" 20,000 apps would be favorable for Palm at this moment.

So would this be possible, even as a homebrew effort?

I am by no means a programmer so someone let me know I am interested.

Thanks.
    And why would you want to do this against a competitor? lol
    Android wont even allow this.
    The best bet is to convince companies to port over the apps to Palm Pre. Being nearly the same in development, it can be done.
    Global Posts
    468 Global Posts
    I think what we need here is some more cowbell and five thousand more Brighthouse quote apps....problem solved.
    Actually, what I think we need here is to integrate native support for the Classic Palm OS apps for Free, that should add several thousand more useful good apps.

Next, We need to get a J2ME VM support so we can play the thousands of midlets available.

Third, we add a new standard of Programming in addition to C/C++, Javascript, HTML5, CSS. And that is another language that web developers are very familiar with: PHP.

Fourth, Add support not just for Flash, but for a standalone Flash player and/or Silverlight player, adding more options as far as apps and games and developers go.