Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Just curious as to whom else has a similar problem. Just today I had blown my third pre speakerphone in about 6 months. I work in the electronics industry (hardware assembly) and was interested as to what the cause of this was. First time around, I thought it was a problem from metal dust. I placed a coffee filter over my 2nd pre's entire upper back and still had the speaker blown. Today I examined my third blown speaker and see no signs of metal dust. This last and 3rd time around I used the speaker VERY rarely as well. Its quite a surprise, the only similar time I have had something similar happen (as if the speaker has a high pitch filter) was when I accidentally demagnetized my headphones. I'm starting to think there's a correlation between these two things.

This leads me to ask the question - has anyone else blown a speaker (not from excessive loud noise) that is not on the touchstone? I think the touchstone might be toying with the rear speaker.
    i have a touchstone but no broken speaker and im sure there are plenty others with the same
    Other Pre users have stated in here that the magnet in the speaker attracts metal filings and causes the speaker to fail. I have had a TS charger on my launch day Pre now for almost 10 months now, now problems with mine or my two kids (they have had TS chargers since Xmas).
    I had wondered in the past if the touchstone magnets affect the speaker issue as to what lead with a blown speaker. But i have a touchstone and a launch-day pre and still going strong
    Global Posts
    37 Global Posts
    it might be that your having issues with the headphone jack, which might automatically disable the loudspeaker.
    Global Posts
    156 Global Posts
    my speaker died the day after buying and charging on touchstone