Global Posts
    77 Global Posts
    Palm has been outwardly silent about their real goal for the Pre. They were pretty direct with me in the beta-test period. I wonder if they are on course.

They had 2 choices:
    (1) Be a toy, like the iPhone ... games, camera, $.99 fart apps ... appealing to a whole new crowd, really abandoning their old "Palm" users.

(2) Be a modern business phone ... a sexier version of the Treo.

*** I volunteered for beta-testing, as I was a long term palm developer. I was told (in no uncertain terms) that they really weren't aiming at my crowd. Medical apps, reference texts, business apps were un-interesting ... i think they knew they would fall short.

We are approaching 6 months ... and I still can't detect their public plan. They really aren't a good toy, and they really aren't a good business tool yet.

It will be interesting to see the future.
    I believe palm knows that they can not compete with apple in the toy department and our most likley focusing on # 2
    I think they found a 3rd strategy not listed here... and it feels more like the blackberry strategy for the less serious businessman. It's all about being "connected", but their focus on google and facebook shows who their target audience is.

Honestly, i think I'm exactly who they're targeting. I'm 27 years old, I work as an editor in the entertainment industry... I use Gmail and Facebook to stay in touch, even moreso than SMS or phone calls. I don't play games on my phone often. Every other phone I've tried has leaned too far in one of the 2 directions you've listed, and I like right where the Pre falls.

I'm pretty happy with most phone companies pushing the social networking/synergy aspect of communication devices now. Like the Hero's Sense UI and the Motoblur Interface/Cliq.
    Global Posts
    140 Global Posts