webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Discussion >  webOS Discussion Lounge > The "Real" Reason the SDK Isn't Ready (& The App Store is Stuck on 30)
The "Real" Reason the SDK Isn't Ready (& The App Store is Stuck on 30)

Old 07/13/2009, 01:08 PM   #1 (permalink)

DISCLAIMER: This is sheer conjecture and I'm not a developer. I have no desire to start an argument and I'm a generally happy Pre user (with some bug-fix and feature requests). This is just a friendly discussion...

It seems to me that Palm is especially quiet about what's coming out next, when features will be added, which features are on the short list, when apps will hit the app store, and if they (Palm) even hear what users are begging for (demanding) in the form of features and bug fixes.

It also seems strange that Palm has said the reason for the SDK being slow to reach all developers who want it, is because they don't have sufficient resources to support the developer community. -- While that may be somewhat true, if the SDK was close to being finished, they could just release it with "limited developer support." (Ironically, that wouldn't be terribly different from how they're treating users with bug reports and feature needs these days, but I digress.)

Anyway, my guess is that the "real" reason is that Palm hasn't even finalized the Pre feature set and functionality. Lots of us have been half-joking that we feel like beta testers rather than just early adopters. I'm not so sure that's a stretch any more.