webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Discussion >  webOS Discussion Lounge > New to Wi-Fi on cell
New to Wi-Fi on cell

Old 07/09/2009, 02:05 PM   #1 (permalink)

I am new to having a cell phone with Wi-Fi. I know that T-mobile had phones that used Wi-Fi for calls when using it. How does the Pre use Wi-Fi?
sciteach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/09/2009, 02:30 PM   #2 (permalink)

Everything except phone calls and SMS text messages.
Caitlyn McKenzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/09/2009, 02:40 PM   #3 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sciteach View Post
I am new to having a cell phone with Wi-Fi. I know that T-mobile had phones that used Wi-Fi for calls when using it. How does the Pre use Wi-Fi?
The Pre can use WiFi as an alternative to EV (or 1X or...) data for receiving/sending e-mail, web browsing, calendar/contacts sync, etc. As the previous poster said, it cannot be uses for SMS (or MMS) or to make phone calls.

Basically, it's an alternate way to "do data." In theory, it's faster. And works in places where you can't get a good data connection.

You'll need to have a WiFi router, of course. And be in range of it.

The nice thing on the Pre is that it'll switch between connections automatically. So, for example, I can walk home using EV. Then, when I come inside my house, it picks up that I have a WiFi router and switches to that. Later, I can go back on a walk and switch back to EV. If I go to a coffee shop that has free WiFi, it can switch to that when I go inside.
squeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/09/2009, 02:54 PM   #4 (permalink)

Thanks Caitlyn & squeff!
sciteach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/09/2009, 03:02 PM   #5 (permalink)

Also doesn't use WiFi for SprintTV, based on my great WiFi at home, but poor data and therefore terrible SprintTV streaming at home.
sacherjj#AC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/11/2009, 07:43 PM   #6 (permalink)