Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Global Posts
    10 Global Posts
    Hi, maybe I have an interesting perspective to the Pre. I'm an iPhone user since day 1 that just switched to the Pre more over disdain for AT&T then anything else. Here are my thoughts of where they are with v1 as compared to Apple's third OS:

Phone App: Palm nailed it. Universal Search and Spotlight are about the same, functionality wise here, but being able to type in a name from the phone app's keypad view is a win, with iPhone you have to switch from keypad to contacts or favorites.

Synergy: Amazing! I had to manually link all my AIM buddies, but otherwise, it merged entries from Google, Facebook and a work Exchange account with almost 100% accuracy. A few duplicate addresses are shown (same contact with the same work address listed twice) - but NO duplicate names! I also am an IT engineer by trade, and as such have multiple ActiveSync servers I need to connect to. The Pre does this, whereas iPhone and even Windows Mobile can only connect to ONE Exchange server at a time.

Phone Dialing: I'd like to see them smooth this out a bit. It's easy to start a conference call, but I wasn't able how to figure out merging two calls when you dialed one, and the other is call waiting. Also, I couldn't figure out how to drop one end of a conference call, only how to hang up both lines.

Email: Awesome, although the iPhone just got landscape, and while I know there's a hack for that, I hear it's not quite ready yet as gesture swipes don't work reliably. I think the Pre's font is so good that the app just looks ten times better. One gripe: after replying, you have to tap back into your message and hit delete. On the iPhone, after replying, it takes you back into your message, so it's one less tap. Also, deleting on the Pre should take you to the next message, not back to the list. The font is amazing, by the way, it alone makes the iPhone interface look dated.