Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree21Likes
  1.    #1  
    Is WebOS the future ecosystem for Web Apps?

As a new developer, I am interested in developing Web Apps. Would WebOS be the place to start to get ahead of the market, since there are fewer apps? Or would it be better to start developing on a more stable market such as Android or Apple?
    kataran likes this.
    I'm no pro, but I believe webOS's native app framework (Enyo) is very portable, runnable on a variety of platforms without needing excessive overhauls or porting.
    The market for apps isn't exactly bustling, considering the relative few of us still using our webOS gadgets. It really depends on your viewpoint though, since Android/iOS have larger markets
    Quote Originally Posted by SH1 Enterprise View Post
    Is WebOS the future ecosystem for Web Apps?

As a new developer, I am interested in developing Web Apps. Would WebOS be the place to start to get ahead of the market, since there are fewer apps? Or would it be better to start developing on a more stable market such as Android or Apple?
    The market is small, which is both a challenge and an opportunity. The challenge is that you have a smaller base to be able to sell to. The opportunity, though, is that there will be very little competition for your app and you'll have more freedom in defining your product. You also have a community hungry for products, so there's a very good chance that the vast majority of webOS users will be aware of and interested in what you're offering. On iOS or Android, your app could be easily overlooked.

That's a calculation you'll need to determine for yourself, though: will a fraction of a percent of the iOS/Android installed base seeing your app bring you more revenue than the majority of webOS users seeing it?