Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By TabletConnectDev
  1.    #1  
    Hello,

I am a new webOS developer and am creating an app (basically a feed reader) that pulls my posts directly from my blog via RSS feed. Not sure why it is not working. The url to my blog feed is "http :// feeds.feedburner. com/ TabletConnect" (without the spaces since I can't post links). When I use this url in my app, it does not read from it. It can read other RSS urls but not this one. Any idea why and how I can get the app to read the feed? Thanks.
    the RSS feed parser in mojo is very temperamental. I was able to parse your feed in my app called techtray but my app says your feed is a nonstandard ATOM feed as opposed to most other feeds that are RSS 2.0 format. (essentially the field delimiters in ATOM feeds are different for story, title, description etc which is a real pain). So I had to setup some code in my app to detect if atom nodes were present and if so then to parse the returned XML differently.

i'm kind of a novice anyway - so maybe someone else can give better advice. But there's my 2 cents. Perhaps there's a more elegant way to programatically go about this.

another way to work around is to create an alias of your feed using yahoo's pipes. Pipes converts a feed to RSS 2.0 (among many other features) and then you can use the yahoo pipes URL (or tinyurl it) and go that route.
  3.    #3  
    Quote Originally Posted by cyberprashant View Post
    the RSS feed parser in mojo is very temperamental. I was able to parse your feed in my app called techtray but my app says your feed is a nonstandard ATOM feed as opposed to most other feeds that are RSS 2.0 format. (essentially the field delimiters in ATOM feeds are different for story, title, description etc which is a real pain). So I had to setup some code in my app to detect if atom nodes were present and if so then to parse the returned XML differently.