Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes
    Global Posts
    133 Global Posts
    OK, a little background so you don't think I'm an *****. I'm primarily a windows developer (Delphi). I write the CoffeeCup HTML Editor and about a dozen other commercial apps. I'm a prior Microsoft guy, been writing code for decades. Been using the Pre since day one.

I'm finding getting started in webOS development a little difficult. NOT the code writing part - I haven't even gotten that far.

I'm confused as exactly how to develop webOS code. I've seen the web based Ares stuff, and some older Enyo videos, downloaded the SDK and everything, but I don't see an IDE. Is there one? I've seen mentions of Eclipse and such, but I'm talking about an Integrated Development Environment.

Maybe this is why there aren't very many apps, it's just plain confusing as how to start.

Those of you who have been doing this from day one might not think it's confusing, but when you're new, it's crap.
    Mike Dixon
    Software Developer
    Quote Originally Posted by Fishous View Post
    OK, a little background so you don't think I'm an *****. I'm primarily a windows developer (Delphi). I write the CoffeeCup HTML Editor and about a dozen other commercial apps. I'm a prior Microsoft guy, been writing code for decades. Been using the Pre since day one.

I'm finding getting started in webOS development a little difficult. NOT the code writing part - I haven't even gotten that far.

I'm confused as exactly how to develop webOS code. I've seen the web based Ares stuff, and some older Enyo videos, downloaded the SDK and everything, but I don't see an IDE. Is there one? I've seen mentions of Eclipse and such, but I'm talking about an Integrated Development Environment.

Maybe this is why there aren't very many apps, it's just plain confusing as how to start.

Those of you who have been doing this from day one might not think it's confusing, but when you're new, it's crap.
    I actually use notepad++ :O