Global Posts
    74 Global Posts
    Hey, I'm an absolute beginner when it comes to coding apps for a mobile platform. i used to mess around with Visual Studio in college doing some C++. ironically i think i'm a really great UI designer (i was having a lot of fun in Ares designing my app) but coding is lost on me.

anyway, i have an idea for a brain-dead simple app that would help me remember stuff, because apparently the 100+ "reminder / task list / to-do" apps already out there don't do the trick for me and in this situation i'm pickier than a guy who hates condiments on sandwiches aka my brother.

i created an app in Ares that has a text input line and a Submit button underneath. i want to be able to type in a custom message like "dont forget lunch in the fridge like last time you imbecile", tap Submit, and the message is emblazoned across the bottom as a persistent dashboard banner. lord knows i check my phone's lock screen 100 times a day but can't remember what i went into the laundry room to do, so i'll definitely see that.

when i click on the button object i created in ares, i go to the Events tab and click ontap. when i'm brought to the code, i simply don't know what to type in. i found something helpful on this page:

Dashboards and Notifications – HP Palm Developer Center

i got it to work with the button by copying that sample code, but not my custom text. besides, that's just the banner code and not the dashboard. i don't understand any of the stuff underneath it. can anyone help?