Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    hey,
    I'm trying my *** of trying to learn how to ccode for webos. I have almost no prior experience and am finding it difficult. I am using all of the tips provided on the forums so far and bought a couple of books. I'm wondering how you got to the level you are at. School, self-taught, etc?
    This is a good starting point for HTML/Javscript/CSS, which you need a handle on for webOS programming.

W3Schools Online Web Tutorials
    Is that still needed for enyo?

Selling my Palm things: just make an offer: http://forums.webosnation.com/market...nd-offers.html
    you picked a heck of a platform to start programming with.... it's undergoing major changes as we speak... i would start with regular web pages... css... and javascript. W3 Schools like posted above is a great place to start. Don't worry about making a phone app just yet. you need to make a web page that lets say takes in 2 numbers via text boxes and adds them thogether via javascript... once you can do that via a web page.. you can write an app for the most part.

Again the way we write apps is going to change soon... so get working on making some functional web page... and you'll be one big step closer when the "new" framework gets released to us.
    Quote Originally Posted by IcerC View Post
    Is that still needed for enyo?
    Hopefully we will find out soon, but I would expect so. My impression is that Enyo is just and alternative framework to Mojo with a simplified interface.
    Yes, w3Schools is a nice resource for beginners. Just keep in mind that currently, the web development community has become very hostile against them with w3Fools. Personally, I think they're being overzealous, but it would be a good idea to move on to other resources after you have a good idea on how to code javascript.

Also, I follow these blogs, as they usually provide good information:
    http://pdnblog.palm.com/
    http://benalman.com/news/