Global Posts
    91 Global Posts
    With WebOS 2.0 and the major changes from Java and JavaScript and Ares vs Enyo. Should I start learning to write apps with the 2.0 SDK and Enyo (when it is available) or start now with the 1.4.5 build? I have no real experience at all and will most likely start by looking at some Java books and w3schools web tutorials, The most I have done is troubleshooting SQL databases and a tiny, tiny bit of html. But I am concerned with the changes and don't want to learn one thing and then have to re-learn another because of it possibly being so different.

Is 2.0 different enough that I should just start with it or is 1.4.5 a good foundation for 2.0 for me to learn on?

Thanks everyone.
    Global Posts
    352 Global Posts
    In my opinion I'd wait for Enyo since they're phasing out Mojo. Mojo is actually rather advanced even for a seasoned programmer like me. No sense in learning all of it's quirks when it's going away anyway. I'd probably focus more on small web apps and the javascript/css needed to make them work. Probably get more mileage that way.

- Phil -
    Try Ares first. That is what I am going to do.
    Wait for Enyo. Sounds like it will reduce the framework complexity considerably.
    There is a lot that you can learn that is independent of the UI framework and will still apply when Enyo becomes available. Might as well jump in now and start learning how to call OS services, external Ajax services, etc, and keep your UI's to a bare minimum. Mojo will be around for a while before they stop shipping it on devices. If you do all that you will have a big head start.
    I agree with Matt. I'd start learning the non-UI framework stuff now in Ares. The UI framework is only a small part of development, so learning the API, services, etc. will still remain the same.
    Richard Neff

My tutorials on WebOS development: Beyond 'Hello World!' | Getting Started - WebOS Development

My apps: Percent Table | SierraPapa